Unit 11 1.1/1.2: progression routes

(Unit 11 1.1)- For this part of unit 11 I will be investigating the relevant progression routes and application processes for when my college course comes to an end for me. This will involve: showing evidence of my university/UCAS applications and research into course I want to join, my own strengths and ambitions- through my personal statement, university open days and preparation for interviews.

(Unit 11 1.1)- During the whole progression process I had to write my own personal statement as part of my application which outlined my course-related strengths, ambitions for the future, work and course-related experiences in relation to my plans for the future and career plans. The most important thing I had to justify here was the reasons why I wanted to study that particular course with evidence that I have done previous work that showed my interest in the course. Because my UCAS application included my main choices of Journalism and Multimedia Technology and Design (with a year in industry) I included reference to both of these courses’ content such as: my FMP double-page spreads from last year, video pieces and articles I have written as part of my college course. Alongside these examples I have explained the skills and strengths gained from these that I can carry into my university course and career. Linking to my strengths and ambitions, I included my work experience placements and stated the skills that equipped me in my college studies and could do so at university such as: teamwork, reliance from others, time-management and even punctuality, independence and managing money from my part time employment.

Here is my personal statement:

personal-statement

(Unit 11 1.2)- In relation to the rest of my progression routes and application process, I needed to show that I understood what was expected of me for fully understanding the courses I wanted to apply for plus where I wanted to do these and that I understand the full content and requirements of my choices. this is clearly where my UCAS application falls into as this was what I used to apply for my University choices. However, before I began my UCAS application I did some research into the courses that offered what I wanted for my career. I knew for a fact that I did not want to travel away to study and that I wanted to commute to my university so I looked at some which were near enough for me to travel daily to. I looked at the University of Kent because I knew they offered a journalism degree which I was interested in since being told about uni applications. However, I also saw a multimedia technology and design degree at Kent uni which consisted of web design, 3D animation, Photoshop and digital photography to name a few. I knew from there that I I had my heart set on that course and loved the idea of studying these different media formats.

I attended the open day for that uni to gather a more thorough insight to the campus and to attend talks by the staff on my course choices, financial support and well-being support. All of these were very helpful for when it came to my UCAS applications, preparing for life there in general and setting my heart on going there for sure!

(Unit 11 1.2)- When it came to my UCAS application I have included screenshots of my application itself, personal statement I included, email evidence that my application has been successful and offeres for interviews and study for my courses:

screenshot

screenshot

(Unit 11 1.1)- However, after my applications were processed and I received my offers, I was still invited to an open day for those who have applied. Despite it not being subject-specific yet, it offered me the perfect chance to gain an understanding of what my chosen university had to offer such as: accommodation and facilities, what to expect between now and when I get my results, and the options for if don’t achieve the grades for any conditional offers I have. When I did go to this day, I found all the information and presentations given really helped answer questions I had on other sorts of funding and applying for student loans. I was also really impressed with how organised the day was too because all applicants were split into two groups depending on whether they attended college or school/A-levels so that each group was given the correct UCAS process accordingly.

One aspect of this day involved hearing what some of the current students thought about the university as well as being taken on a campus tour by them and seeing what facilities were on offer for us as students-to-be. Hearing the positives of Kent University from the students’ experiences made my trip much more welcoming and even useful to come from someone who’s position I will be in this time next year.

Below is the confirmation email I received for this event:

screenshot

 

A few weeks after this open day, I was invited to a applicant day that was subject-specific this time, meaning it would be outlining my chosen course and give me deeper insight to it. Overall, this day did give me an insight to what I should be expecting for September and I had the opportunity to meet students currently doing the course so that I could see how they feel about it as well as viewing the whole campus and accommodation. However, this day didn’t turn our quite as I planned since I knew that the course I applied for wasn’t quite for me; the digital media course had all the content I thought my Multimedia technology/design course had but that was more programming and web development whereas digital media was more creative. This was where I asked the staff for advice and they said I could email the admissions at the university to see if a simple course title swap was possible whilst still keeping the same conditional offer I first received.

CV

If it wasn’t for this applicant day being held I wouldn’t have known until September what course was really going to be right for me and there would have been the risks of wasting time switching uni courses and inevitably missing behind on work in the first term.

Unit 11 1.1/1.2: progression routes

One thought on “Unit 11 1.1/1.2: progression routes

  1. tomrowse says:

    All aspects of the criteria have been met with detail and a through evaluation of the progression routes and possibilities, plus reflecting well on the process.

    Like

Leave a Reply

