Unit 10 Children’s book: Week 11

Evidence in my design work the demonstrates an understanding of the topics taught over the past 8 weeks (Unit 10 2.2):

This week I have been continuing the production of my children’s storybook including using Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop to trace and fill in my character illustrations and using the colour fill and brush tool to continue work with the beach huts and other background areas of my photos. However, my tutor gave me feedback that related to the layout of my spreads and how they could be enhanced even more. (Unit 10 1.2)- This also tied in with my layout research I conducted the other week and after sitting down with my tutor and looking through it again, we saw that one thing in common with every spread was that one topic took up one entire spread and we both came to the conclusion that I should do the same for my storybook where appropriate.

(Unit 10 2.2)- However, I was soon shown a way of spreading out the photos a little bit by using a plain background- which I found an excellent way of carrying across facts about the beach safety flags. For instance, I had one photo montage on one side and the plain coloured background symbolizing the flag which also gave me the opportunity to add in a unique ‘Did you know…’ element to the book. Overall, this was a terrific way to add a variety of aesthetics to the book without it looking the same, even with different photos. Feedback from my tutor also stated that the bright coloured backgrounds really make it easier for the child to understand, especially since the safety information is on the page too. This also keeps hold of the child-friendly nature of the book for my assigned target audience.

spread-1spread-2

More alterations with my storybook was also regarding the illustrations and their positioning on the pages. This process referred back to our lecture on proportion in which different elements of a page or spread are all different sizes, such as the text and images being complete opposite sizes or other images being completely different in sizes. In some cases for my book this can mean characters leaning over the page edges to create a great proportion variation.

Last week, my tutor and I came up with the idea together of having a reoccurring infographic symbol within my book such as a life-ring which we both thought would be really effective and symbolise what counts as the safety information within my storybook in my storybook.

(Unit 10 2.1)- As for plans for next week, they all link into my SMART target of completing the entire storybook by the 17th December. As a result of this, my plan include ensuring that ALL illustrations are filled in and applied on to my spreads using my feedback and knowledge of lectures on proportions and various typography too. In addition to all this, I have also made a start on my final evaluation based on what I have completed already throughout this project. Both my evaluation and final piece will be uploaded on separate blog posts.

Unit 10 Children’s book: Week 11

One thought on “Unit 10 Children’s book: Week 11

  1. Celia Feedback:
    Grace this is developing well as this simple approach with one main image per spread is easier for a small child to understand the safety messages that this book must impart. However you need to experiment more with the page layout. More research and examples of other designer’s work will help you to refine your own outcomes. Save different versions of the spreads within InDesign to allow you to develop and experiment. By adding in extra spreads in InDesign and then copy and choose ‘edit’ menu and ‘place in place’, you will effectively duplicate the spread. Print out the spreads and seek peer feedback on the layouts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

