Unit 10 children’s book: Week 10

Evidence of my design work, that demonstrates an understanding of the topics taught over the past 8 weeks:

(Unit 10 2.2)- This week, production has mainly consisted of using the usual skills involving Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop in order to progress with my children’s book storybook further. Many of these skills involved using image tracing and the layer mask tools with my illustrations in order to apply the required colour and outlines to my illustrations. However, one new aspect of production I carried out this week was editing my photos for the background. One perfect examples includes when I used the Feathering tool on Photoshop to apply feathered pieces of the tide in order to make the overall sea effect look rough and dangerous. This feathering tool was perfect for creating this precise setting since it blended in the tide layers well with the existing smooth photo I used and I could overlap the layers as much as I pleased to create the rough sea I wanted.

Here is a before and after photo of the work I did to the photo:

img_0256   rough-sea-scene

Whilst I was showing my tutor my work we both agreed that following on from previous weeks, the layout for my spreads could do with being made a bit more exciting for my target audience. This was where she suggested that I carry on filling in the beach huts photo with them in varying colours to enhance them a bit. This involved the use of the layer mask and brush tool in Photoshop to lasso around, fill in and erase the colours around the beach huts. Then my tutor showed me a new method of turning these into a separate layer which I could apply into InDesign.

My tutor then showed me a new method called a clipping path which I used to turn the beach huts into a separate layer which involved: using the pen tool to draw around the beach huts and making a clipping of it to save and then apply into InDesign.

office-lens-20161130-171515

Looking at the final result below and with experimenting more with it for the layout, I do feel a bit ore assured that my photos can be altered without making them look too cartoonish and therefore ruining the purpose of them. I found it actually quite fun as well to be exploring new proportions and proxemics with the illustrations as the new layouts helped me to do just that!

picture

 (Unit 10 1.2)- However, to thoroughly expand my ideas for layouts I was advised to do a little more research into existing spreads with various layouts. This could be from any print source and involve how the images are layered out, the text styles and typography, all of which I took careful note on relating to my own storybook.

layout-research

(Unit 10 2.1)- With regards to tasks to complete in next week’s session, I will be aiming to complete every background and the layout for my storybook. However, I have had to make some minor adjustments to my SMART target for time which was to have the storybook completed by the 7th December. I have had to extend this deadline to the 17th December because I have had struggles and obstacles during production with the software that have held me back. This deadline should help me to have all my illustrations filled in and applied along with the layout being completed too. During this duration to save even more time I will make a start on my final evaluations on the areas I have completed of this project already.

Unit 10 children’s book: Week 10

One thought on “Unit 10 children’s book: Week 10

  1. tomrowse says:

    Well done Grace – you are experimenting with images and layout to refine your book. Last week’s session resulted in your decision to just have one photo montage per spread which is much more legible. Then using the remaining area to flag up useful safety advice whilst at the seaside set against plain colour backgrounds so the child can easily absorb the information.

    Using little infographics on these pages as you suggested (the life ring) could be really effective:

    Like

Leave a Reply

