Unit 10 children’s book: week 9

Evidence of my design work, that demonstrates an understanding of the topics taught over the past 8 weeks:

Leading up to this week I have used a wide array of techniques from over the term to complete even more towards my children’s storybook. For instance, I have had to go back to my character illustrations and re-fill some of their designs in order to apply a bit more creativity to them and make look a little less cartoonish. This was done using the layer mask and swatches on Adobe Photoshop and the image trace feature on Adobe Illustrator was also used to even out the lines and make them look the same thickness and look more professional. Here are the following illustrations I will officially use in my storybook:

 

(Unit 9 2.2)- Although I was set to complete the next two spreads of my storybook today, I did learn a new skills which could possibly help with enhancing my photos and make them look a little more exciting. This was when I was firstly shown how to change the colour of the beach huts in Photoshop with the lasso tool and swatches to vary each individual beach hut. This was a skill I found really interesting and handy also because I could use the pattern and gradient options to create a contrast in the photo. When this was done I created a layer from it to use in InDesign where I could create different effects above the beach huts. This included experimenting with various gradients and fills and here is what I have come up with over this week:

(Unit 10 1.1/2.2)- On top of learning new layout techniques I was also shown a couple of ways to change the text in my book which included a separate font for the dialogue and plot summaries and widening the line spacing between them slightly. All production methods here was in consideration for my target audience of a child aged 5-11 years old (but for mine, 6-8 years) and how the style/ length of text in my new format shouldn’t overwhelm the child.

(Unit 9 2.1)- In terms of keeping on track with my deadline, I can say that even though I still have some existing illustrations to re-apply and more background photos to edit I will be able top have this completed during this week as well as completing the illustrations for my last few schedules spreads. It’s also an advantage for me that I now have a much firmer grip with the use of illustrator and Photoshop so I can accomplish the task much faster and with more detail too.

For next week, however, I will set myself the task of completing all of the illustrations that are yet to be applied and sketched for my storybook. Since I have access to Illustrator and Photoshop at home this can be done efficiently and allow me to go ahead and apply them to the spreads during college which will save me enough time to focus on the background images that require editing as part of the story.

 

Unit 10 children’s book: week 9

One thought on “Unit 10 children’s book: week 9

  1. tomrowse says:

    Excellent – your background images are still realistic which I believe you were concerned about but are now enhanced using Photoshop techniques. Concentrate on your layout now for each spread. You could try bring some imagery into the type itself as per this example… even though it’s for a different target market it’s an interesting and engaging layout:

    Some spreads might just be typography and colour to give the child a chance to absorb all the information from the previous pages.

    Like

Leave a Reply

