Week 6 project pitch (Greg)

This week our main focus was proposing our project ideas through a pitch to the entire class and out tutor. This was where we stated our decided themes and two formats to tell them and why plus how we intended to research our theme with which methods of doing so.

Whilst we were listening to some of the other class member’s pitches we took notes on the strengths of their ideas, what they could improve on and how we could contribute to their project ideas.

(Unit 9 1.1)- When it came to my pitch I presented to everyone my idea of the theme of obsession regarding digital technology, my chosen formats of article and photos, my research methods and how I will manage my time using a production schedule. When it came to the feedback it was mainly to do with how I would present my theme using my chosen formats. I told everyone that I was considering a photo journal but Scott told me that it would probably be better to do it as two separate pieces because the article combined would almost ruin the ‘show, don’t tell’ purpose of the photos. This also made me think about time-management since I could focus on each one separately- possibly the photographs first since they could help give me ideas for the opening 25 words of my article. The class also helped me gain ideas for photos I could develop to show my theme. Elliot suggested to me of having numbers of hours above each person’s head who’s playing a video game or who is on their phone which was a brilliant idea for me since it could show the contrast between what is fun gaming, slightly more obsessive and a pure addiction.

More feedback came in response to my theme itself which everyone thought could be digital technology itself rather than the obsession side due to how much more I mentioned technology than obsession. However, I still decided to keep obsession as one of the main sub-themes for my project which didn’t change to many of my intentions but still fitted in nicely with the feedback I received.

unit-9-pitch

(Unit 9 2.1)- This was the week I also began my research for this project and began my production schedule up until the deadline and blog posts to record not only contain what I have done to explore my project/theme but all that in relation to the criteria that requires covering.

Week Task Blog posts: Completed?
17th-23rd November ·        Have all primary and secondary research completed.

·        Start conducting vox pops and send out surveys.

·        State what has been completed this week and what production methods have been used. Give examples of the work (Unit 9 2.2)

·        What have I done to ensure that my project is in sync with my target audience? (Unit 9 1.1/2.1)

·        Did you follow your production schedule this week? If not why? What needs completing next week? (Unit 9 3.1/3.2)

 
24th-30th November ·        Have all vox pops and survey results analysed and transcribed for the article.

·        Start producing the set of photos using research conducted.

·        State what has been completed this week and what production methods have been used. Give examples of the work (Unit 9 2.2)

·        What have I done to ensure that my project is in sync with my target audience? (Unit 9 1.1/2.1)

·        Did you follow your production schedule this week? If not why? What needs completing next week? (Unit 9 3.1/3.2)

 
1st-7th December ·        Have all the photos completed.

·        Start the production of the article using research and interviews.

·        State what has been completed this week and what production methods have been used. Give examples of the work (Unit 9 2.2)

·        What have I done to ensure that my project is in sync with my target audience? (Unit 9 1.1/2.1)

·        Did you follow your production schedule this week? If not why? What needs completing next week? (Unit 9 3.1/3.2)

 
8th-15th December (deadline) ·        Have the article completed.

·        Begin final evaluations.

·        State what has been completed this week and what production methods have been used. Give examples of the work (Unit 9 2.2)

·        What have I done to ensure that my project is in sync with my target audience? (Unit 9 1.1/2.1)

·        Did you follow your production schedule this week? If not why? What needs completing next week? (Unit 9 3.1/3.2)

As for next week, that is when all of my official research and pre-production will begin which includes researching my theme and sub-themes and planning the precautions I may need to take when it comes to using people in my photos.

Week 6 project pitch (Greg)

One thought on “Week 6 project pitch (Greg)

  1. tomrowse says:

    This is very impressive Grace – I think we could use this as template for all students in future to follow the unit criteria and setting own personal targets.
    Excellent blog post. Try an enjoy the photograph aspect of this project and remember it is experimental in nature. I think it is a fascinating project.
    Effective reflections on feedback throughout the blog post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

