Week 5: Skills (Greg)

Description of the skills being learned and used- (Unit 9 2.1/2.2)

This week being the first week back from half term we looked some more into investigating different forms of writing and telling a theme. This was when we looked at script writing for theatre and the exercise involved choosing two characters, a setting and an object and writing a script using those elements with the theme of conflict. I received: a chip shop worker who is always too happy, a homeless dog, a really ‘sh*tty’ zoo and a noose. We also used an example of another script which was ‘Death Knocks’ by Woddy Allen as a guide on the layout for our script.

Show an example of these skills being used professionally- (Unit 9 1.1/1.2)

Here is the script we used to help us with the layout for ours:

death-knocks-by-woody-allen (Allen, W, 1968)

Demonstrate my own example of the skills being used- (Unit 9 2.1/2.2)

Here is my script I wrote on the four elements I received:

The play takes place in not just any zoo- but a really shitty zoo with over half the animals escaping from desperation daily and hay and faeces carelessly blocking every walkway in sight. Not even the brightest of summer days can brighten up the atmosphere or anyone’s mood in this depressing excuse for a zoo.

Jess, a dog who was once homeless and technically still is, is seen curled up on the stone floor of her enclosure. She is cold, hungry and humiliated as the humans laugh at her misery. Desperate for a way out of her miserable life mess, Jess looks up and spots a length of rope dangling from the enclosure above.

JESS: Only one word comes to mind right now… noose.

(John, the local chip shop worker strolls by with his dog who barks at Jess in mockery. John’s always too happy especially for this occasion but he can’t help notice the rope sadly hanging down and Jess looking up at it.)

JOHN: Say, I need a new rope for my next fishing trip. I must admit though, it does look much like a noose though. Nah, even better though, my fish don’t stand a chance!

JESS: Sorry matey, that noose is all booked up.

JOHN: Look scruffball, if I need to break into your enclosure to steal it the so be it. (John frantically shakes the bars of the enclosure to intimidate Jess.)

JESS: (Growls and barks in anger at John, then): How would you like to be all alone and friendless with no chance of happiness, eh? Look at me, in this really shitty zoo that smells almost as bad as you and feels like hell to live in. I might as well be there for real!

JOHN: (For a second he looks like he may have some sensitivity for the homeless dog. Then he grins and shrugs his shoulders as those feelings drain away rapidly): Very well then, just bark when you’re done with it! You win this time but that noose will be perfect use for me when you’re not!

JESS: He want’s it, he’s gonna get it…

 

Evaluate my own use of the skills with reference to the professional example- (Unit 9 3.1/3.2)

During the actual writing of this skill, I did find it quite easy to begin with as I knew how to order my setting, characters and my object. I used the location firstly to draw the audience in more and the introduced my characters and made the object the main point of focus for the conflict. However, when we were sharing feedback for it i didn’t realise how dark it really was until everyone said it was and even how dark it felt reading it (With Ben and Libby reading Jess and John!) Not that it being a very dark script meant it was bad at all but it did leave plenty of room for feedback regarding other themes it could portray such as death and animal cruelty. However, it was suggested by the class that they weren’t expecting John to let Jess use the noose and maybe to try other ways of telling the same story. For instance, have John take the noose away or have John’s dog communicate with Jess instead. All of these could still be excellent ways of showing the theme of conflict and tone down a little on the darkness to adapt to different target audiences or even increase it depending on it.

Description of the skills being learned and used- (Unit 9 2.1/2.2)

After the script writing exercise we shifted our focus to something we have previously done both at the beginning of this year and during the first year. This was looking at a series of images and looking at what thoughts, feelings and meanings they could be showing. After that we took one of the images and turned it into a journalistic piece of writing which was the first active 25 words to an article- something we studied last year.

After we did the first 25 words we were the given the option of either extending it into an article or producing another script for the image. I decided to firstly base the article on my first initial thoughts on the photo and afterwards research what the photo really meant so that I could compare what I had written about the image as well as see any hidden theme that could link to it.

Demonstrate my own example of the skills being used- (Unit 9 2.1/2.2)

Here is what I wrote for the first 25 active words for an article on my image:

1967_par37859_comp

(Selwyn-Holmes, A, 2009)

Whilst clutching a flower she will see in daylight, another desperate mother takes her last opportunity to say goodbye to her only loved ones.

The killing and slaughter as a wartime soldier isn’t their choice. Witnessing the slaughter of those nearest and dearest is makes them wish it was their choice. 

Here is my article for the image:

Another day of war means another death as an innocent towns citizen grips a flower in desperation whilst standing face to face with numerous bayonets. The mother of her son, a current wartime soldier, has been seen standing in front of dozens of bayonets with a flower in her grasp as she says goodbye to her loved ones. As a result of her husband’s death in the very same war, the mother-of-one is an active member of the anti-protest group organised to promote piece during the war. As of today, the group has witnessed the deaths of 30 members from the 400 members willing to cool down the wartime feud. The result is another member of this group facing the taking of her life via the dozens of bayonets just inches away from her face. Her son is one of the many soldiers standing in front of his mother for the last time with the bayonet in hand. Unlike the other sliders, this is a choice he never wanted to make.

Inspiration source: https://iconicphotos.wordpress.com/2009/05/15/flower-child-pentagon/

 

Evaluation of my use of the skills learned with reference to the professional practice- (Unit 9 3.1/3.2)

Like most pieces of writing I have produced this unit, I have struggles a bit to come up with a start to it but one of my first 25 word openings made me feel that it would make a good opening as it was short and simply yet likely to draw the reader’s attention in more. Even though it is a fairly short article which contains my initial thought on the image, I do feel that I have learned quite a bit from writing the article and researching the real meaning of it. For instance, I research the real meaning of the image halfway through writing the article so that I could use my imagination by applying information from that and my own prior thoughts. Looking at the final piece, I feel that the mixture of fact and imagination really added some sensitivity to it along with ideas for other themes such as war, loss, piece and society/community.

It also gave me a little heads up for my unit 9 project pitch. Since I will be producing a photo journal with articles on obsession my tutor suggested to me that during my pitch I should do the same photo exercise with the class as we did with the war photo. This made me start to come up with a number of ideas on types of my own photos which could have a hidden meaning or theme within it and not only show the class how photojournalism in my project could tell a theme just as much as an article and allow the audience to gain a more thorough insight to it.

Bibliography:

Selwyn-Holmes, A. (2009). Flower Child, Pentagon. [image] Available at: https://iconicphotos.wordpress.com/2009/05/15/flower-child-pentagon/ [Accessed 5 Nov. 2016].

Selwyn-Holmes, A. (2009). Flower Child, Pentagon. [Blog] Iconic Photos. Available at: https://iconicphotos.wordpress.com/2009/05/15/flower-child-pentagon/ [Accessed 4 Nov. 2016].

Allen, W. (1968). Death Knocks. Unknown Publication place: Unknown publisher.

Week 5: Skills (Greg)

One thought on “Week 5: Skills (Greg)

  1. Another well structured and effective blog post. Your script was engaging and demonstrated the skills of speech and character need plus conflict (all drama is conflict).
    Your journalistic piece is effective but needs more crafting and some editing to really work. Try to avoid simple errors. Try and write in word, print your work out and read back – possibly aloud and get a trusted peer or family member to proofread.

    Consider Editing: The killing and slaughter as a wartime soldier isn’t their choice. Witnessing the slaughter of those nearest and dearest is makes them wish it was their choice
    towns citizen town’s citizen
    anti-protest group – Anti War Protest Group
    organised to promote piece during the war – to promote piece in this time of conflict. or to promote peace.
    willing to cool down – consider word choice – cool down doesn’t have the impetus I think you need in this piece.
    sliders, soldiers

    Like

Leave a Reply

