Unit 10 Children’s book: week 6

 

As further preparation for my children’s book I have come up with further-developed illustrations, a storyboard for the core outline of my storybook over the half term. During this time I have also completed my primary research survey which I analysed and started to create my storyboard according to, alongside my target audience research and existing designer research.

Here is the concept artwork for my character illustrations, which is still a work-in-progress:

Here is the start of my storyboard:

office-lens-20161102-111031

Over this time, however, I came across a few problems: I had to extend the completion date for my SMART target for the storyboard and illustrations due to the time it would take me to do both plus other college work that needed completing on top. This deadline has been extended from the 28th October to the 9th November.

It also needed extending since I needed to gather some more photos for use in my book as the first set I took were either not enough or I didn’t have the correct location I needed for the story. Even though the first photos won’t be of any use for my book, they made really good starting point for sections on my storyboard and was further inspiration for my new set of photos.

 

When we returned back to college this week we had a lecture on layout and poster design. This included learning about types of balance including symmetrical which is when an image on a page or poster is in the center of the page and gives a nice balance. However, asymmetrical is the complete opposite and is towards one side more than the other.

untitled

(Stark, H, 2014)

(Unit 10 2.2)- We also looked at proximity which is essentially the information or content that is in separate ‘puddles’ but still have a close link to each other. This makes all the information much clearer to understand and will become immensely useful to consider for my target audience of children aged 6-8 years old; they will need the text in easy-to-understand amounts since their attention spans are higher than the younger age but are still developing.

proximity

(Graphic Design Principles, 2016)

Next we were taught about repetition within layout as this means that elements of a product or brand reoccur throughout it with the main intentions of promoting it more or making it a solid part of a brand/group. This reminded me of when my pitch feedback from a few weeks back included possibly making my storybook into a series. This is something I could apply to it with the title logo or characters.

(Unit 10 2.2)- Another element I found especially helpful was contrast which is varying every element the children’s resources as much as possible from the images, sizes, colours and even fonts. Because in my storybook I will be using photography as the background and hand-drawn illustrations, I can easily vary the illustration sizes and I have plans to add multiple fonts as well as the planned speech bubbles but to a minimum to avoid overwhelming the child too much.

mgazine_spread

(Dulnik, P, 2013)

After that we covered continuance which is an element of layout that draws the eyes in a direction until something happens. Roads and trees are examples and also relating to perspective. Relating back to symmetrical and asymmetrical balance we learned about dominate (an object with the most visibility or weight including subdominant (Second most visible weight) and subordinate (the least amount of visibility and/or weight).

 

(Unit 10 2.2)- This week was the first week where we used the software Adobe Illustrator. Even though I’ve never used it before I found some of the tools really interesting and handy for when it comes to filling in my storybook illustrations. This was a chance for me to use my own drawings as professional  practice for the real thing.

week-6-adobe-illustrator-notes

Bibliography:

Dulnik, P. (2013). Unknown title. Pure Magazine, [online] (5), pp.138-139. Available at: http://www.edgee.net/the-principles-of-graphic-design-how-to-use-proximity-effectively/ [Accessed 3 Nov. 2016].

Graphic Design principles, (2016). proximity. [image] Available at: http://tecfa.unige.ch/tecfa/teaching/edutechCSS/dynamic.html [Accessed 3 Nov. 2016].

Stark, H. (2014). asymmetrical and symmetrical in web design: What do you prefer?. [image] Available at: http://designwebkit.com/inspiration/symmetry-and-asymmetry-in-web-design/ [Accessed 3 Nov. 2016].

 

Unit 10 Children’s book: week 6

One thought on “Unit 10 Children’s book: week 6

  1. tomrowse says:

    Celia feedback:
    Grace well done you are implementing the knowledge gained during the lectures and workshops to your own solutions to the design brief. Try to upload blogs under the titles as laid out in the Blog checklist to ensure you cover all the requirements. Can you upload evidence of your completed page plan/story board, narrative produced in Word with tracked changes and photography by Friday 11 November. I would like to see your experimentation with combining your illustrations and photography too asap. Remember you only have 4 weeks left to the final deadline.

    Like

Leave a Reply

