Unit 10 Children’s book: Week 5/progression week

This week the first thing we did was share our project progress one by one to the class and talk about everything we have done so far for our children’s resource and what ideas we’ve had so far along with what we intend to do yet.

(Unit 10 2.1)- I told everyone that I had started taking the background photos of the beach I visited a few weeks ago explaining that they would be used as either part of my storybook itself or as inspiration for content-to-be (which I showed to everyone.) I also stated that I’m currently in the process of my character’s concept art for my illustrations and am creating a survey using Survey Monkey for which I will be sending to those who have a child or know a child between the ages of 6-8 years old.

Libby gave me feedback in response to this that the photos I took for the backgrounds were a really great was to portray the dangers of the sea but still in a child-friendly manner. Holly commented on the photos saying that they were taken in an angle that meant I could put the characters on objects such as wooden railings and stone walls for example.

The feedback then turned to characters and despite the concept art process still in production we had a comment raised about having the weather as a character such as the sun and clouds showing the dangers following change in weather at the beach. When asked what other characters I would have in the storybook I said hat they would all resemble seaside creatures like crabs and sea snails. Following on from the feedback I previously received about having a reoccurring character, I have included this into my book as ‘Sandy the seagull’.

 

Our typography lecture this week focused on design and layout mainly regarding text and columns.Firstly, we looked at justified text alignment which where white spaces are added in between words so that all lines of text are the same length in their columns, which makes the text look cleaner and more professional. This element of typography is definitely something I’ll need to consider for my children’s book as whatever text and font I use it will need to have a form of alignment that makes it clear to read yest still looking professional.

We also looked at widows and orphans- a widow is a line of text forced to be alone on a block of text whereas an orphan is a single word at the end of a paragraph.

opusdesign-widows-orphans(Curren, E, 2013)

Another part of this typography lecture we learned was about a hierarchy which is essentially a method or organising type in the order of importance within the data or information (Loyd, J, 2013). This makes life a lot easier for the reader to search for the information they need (Loyd, J, 2013) and is widely used for many magazine spreads as subheadings, headlines and pull-quotes to separate them apart.

One part of the lecture I found particularly was the rule-of-thirds since it applied to the photography work I’ll be using in my storybook. It told us how the rule of thirds would help make the photo look more aligned, especially with people in the picture. Even though my characters would be hand-illustrated this still applied to my photos since I needed them to allow my characters to sit in this position.

Evidence of selecting appropriate media and processes to communicate my idea (Unit 10 2.2):

(Unit 10 2.2)- This week’s Photoshop session gave me an awful lot of helpful resources this week, especially for when it comes to filling the colours for my illustrations. Even though I didn’t have them on hand I can easily practice these in my own time which will also help me get ahead of time if anything happens.

week-5-photoshop-notes

(Unit 10 2.1)- My main focuses over this week and over the half term will be to: start creating a storyboard for my book involving an outline of the story (I will be doing five spreads each dealing with a specific issue of sea safety) where I will also incorporate my photos to this.

Examples of my production work to date, which illustrate how I’m exploring different approaches and media (Unit 10 2.2):

Another will to obviously complete the concept illustrations for my characters- which I have already made a firm start on. Over this week though I will create my other characters whilst using my photo backgrounds as a guide depending on their sizes, positions and part in the story. Here are some of the illustrations I have created so far:

 

(Unit 10 1.2)- Another thing will be my Survey Monkey survey; I started it earlier this week after seeing a couple of others doing the same research for their project. Since production will begin after half term, this will give me the adequate time to send it to my audience (those with children/who know children aged 5-11 years old), gather and analyse my responses and, if necessary, change my ideas according to them. Using my previous email interview as guidance, here is my survey:

hjjkg

hjjkg

hjjkg

Which four designer’s work have influenced my own design solutions for this project and why?

(Unit 10 1.2)- As further inspiration for my children’s storybook, I have also been advised to loo up four existing designers who’s work will influence my project. This can be anything from the text style, layout, characters and colours used and I have also included screenshots to show the example of the designer’s work.

designer-research

 

bibliography (Including designer research):

Alley, R. (2016). Paddington Treasure Box. [image] Available at: http://www.rwalley.com/_center__b__font_color__green___font_size__3__paddington_books__font___font___b__124057.htm [Accessed 29 Oct. 2016].

Alley, R. (2016). Paddington Bear books. [image] Available at: http://www.rwalley.com/disc.htm [Accessed 29 Oct. 2016].

Alley, R. (2016). Paddington Bear books. [image] Available at: http://www.rwalley.com/disc.htm [Accessed 29 Oct. 2016].

Alley, R. (2016). Paddington Bear in the Garden. [image] Available at: http://www.paddington.com/us/books/picture-books/paddington-bear-in-the-garden/ [Accessed 29 Oct. 2016].

Child, L. (2006). We honestly can look after your dog. New York: Grosset & Dunlap.

Child, L. (2006). We honestly can look after your dog. New York: Grosset & Dunlap.

Child, L. (2006). We honestly can look after your dog. New York: Grosset & Dunlap.

Creativity Institute, (2015) available at: (Accessed: 21st September 2016).

Curran, E. (2013). What are widows and orphans? Opus Design Boston. [online] Opus Design — Graphic Design, Web Design & Infographics Boston. Available at: http://opusdesign.us/typographic-widows-orphans/ [Accessed 21 Oct. 2016].

Davis, J. ‘Garfield’ (1981) Garfield, 21 March, Unknown page.

Davis, J. ‘Garfield’ (1984) Garfield, 27 November, Unknown page.

Davis, J. ‘Garfield’ (1985) Garfield, 22 September, Unknown page.

Flynn, I. ‘Part One of…Er…One’ (2014) Sonic Boom, 29 October, pp. 8. Available at: http://www.howtolovecomics.com/2014/10/26/preview-sonic-boom-comic-1/ (Accessed: 23rd October 2016)

Flynn, I. ‘Part One of…Er…One’ (2014) Sonic Boom, 29 October, pp. 8. Available at: http://www.howtolovecomics.com/2014/10/26/preview-sonic-boom-comic-1/ (Accessed: 23rd October 2016).

Flynn, I. ‘Knuckleduster’ (2014) Sonic Boom, 3 December, pp. 5. Available at: http://en.sonicscanf.org/comics/sonic-boom/02/#6 (Accessed: 23rd October 2016).

Loyd, J. (2013). Understanding Typographic Hierarchy. [online] Web Design Envato Tuts+. Available at: https://webdesign.tutsplus.com/articles/understanding-typographic-hierarchy–webdesign-11636 [Accessed 21 Oct. 2016].

Loyd, J. (2013). Understanding Typographic Hierarchy. [online] Web Design Envato Tuts+. Available at: https://webdesign.tutsplus.com/articles/understanding-typographic-hierarchy–webdesign-11636 [Accessed 21 Oct. 2016].

Paddington.com. (2016). R.W. Alley. [online] Available at: http://www.paddington.com/gb/books/illustrators/rw-alley/ [Accessed 29 Oct. 2016].

Stanley, E. Unknown comic title (2016) Ghosts of the Future, 24 September, pp. 34. Available at: http://evanstanley.deviantart.com/art/GOTF-issue-14-page-34-636405195 (Accessed 28th October 2016).

Stanley, E. Unknown comic title (2016) Ghosts of the Future, 3 April, pp. 10. Available at: http://evanstanley.deviantart.com/art/GOTF-issue-14-page-10-600799834 ( Accessed: 28th October 2016).

Unit 10 Children’s book: Week 5/progression week

One thought on “Unit 10 Children’s book: Week 5/progression week

  1. tomrowse says:

    Grace you are producing some excellent concepts so now we need to fast track the production of your artwork as there are only 7 weeks left. You can use Photoshop to collage your character into the background. Or why don’t you experiment in Abode Illustrator with Image Trace as we will be learning Illustrator this week. Here is a useful tutorial to look at before our session:

    Like

Leave a Reply

