Unit 10 children’s book: week 4

My plans to implement a creative media product for a young child- including the schedule I have devised to manage my time:

(Unit 10 2.1)- This week the first thing we looked at were SMART targets which are targets withe purpose of ensuring we know exactly what we are doing and how to ensure it’s produced within a time frame- in my case, the unit deadline. SMART targets are also widely used by university, businesses and other  large companies. Using my devised SMART will also help me to further plan what needs doing with, for instance, a weekly schedule once production has begun.

Specific- To produce a children’s educational storybook aimed at a primary school child.

Measurable- To produce a children’s book aimed at a child ages 5-11 years old by the 7th December  to meet my deadline. I will produce a minimum of five spreads dealing with my book’s topic.

Achievable- Yes it is; I have Photoshop skills to develop the content, I have illustration and photography skills to create the background and characters. I have knowledge of serif and sans-serif font to decide upon the appropriate one.

Relevant yes it is relevant; I have all the skills required for me to develop my product to a professional standard and I have given myself a realistic amount of content to work on until the deadline.

Time- By the 28th of October I will have my storyboard finalized and all my illustrations for this will be ready by the 2nd of November. I will achieve the completion of my children’s storybook by the 7th December in order to meet my set deadline and pass the unit.

Following on from last week’s typography lecture, we also learned some more types of typography and fonts regarding which would be the most suitable for our children’s book or resource. These included upper and lower case fonts and how children learn to read by the shapes of letters.

uandlc (Personal.psu.edu, 2016)

Upper cases (capitals) have no shape so for a children’s book I will avoid the use of this or use a decorative font to enhance the shape of the letters a bit more.

We also took note of ‘kerning’ which means the adjustment of space between unique letters (such as T and Y) and ‘tracking’ which applied to every single letter. Learning about kerning and tracking will become incredibly handy for producing the appropriate spacing of the text in relation to my target audience (a child aged 7 years old).

(Unit 10 2.2)- We also carried out some more skills on Adobe Photoshop for when it comes to the actual production of our storybook or children’s resource- which is what I have decided to produce my book on due to the wide array of tools and photo-editing options I can enhance the aesthetics of my product with. Some of the tools, however, such as the curves and creating layers came to my attention the most as I could not only use them for my storybook creation but they also formed ideas for the story itself. For instance,

photoshop-notes-week-4

Also, since I will be incorporating photography with illustration for my storybook I have started taking photos of ideas for what my book could deal with and/or could even appear in my book. These photos range from skies, the sea horizon, various sea safety signs and establishing shorts of the beach itself.

Bibliography:

Personal.psu.edu. (2016) Poster Session Tips. [online] Available at: http://www.personal.psu.edu/drs18/postershow/ [ accessed: 13 Oct 2016]

 

Unit 10 children’s book: week 4

One thought on “Unit 10 children’s book: week 4

  1. Celia:
    Great Blog Grace – well done. Suggestions for the next blog:
    • Experiment with your photography using some of the features of Photoshop that we have covered in the lesson or other self taught techniques
    • Upload a story board
    • Evidence of narrative with tracked Word changes
    • Book name ideas – including feedback from peers/target audience
    • Examples of image creation – sketches, photo collage etc
    • Evidence of other designer’s work and what influences you have taken from them

    Like

Leave a Reply

