Final Major Project: Step-by step guide

As mentioned and referred to all throughout the Final Major Project, I have used a wide variety of skills and software tools in order to complete my double-page spreads, opening page (editor’s letter) not to mention the support they have also given me in achieving a millimetre accuracy for the magazine brand of ‘Outdoor Photography’. However, it has been brought up upon by one of my tutors that as part of the practical skills criteria for this project, a step-by-step guide would be useful in completing this criteria- which is also a unit itself. I know that i have made extremely thorough reference to my practical skills used during the production but I know for sure that I haven’t gone over how each tool is used or the process of applying each. This was mainly because I have had the knowledge and aid of previous step-by-step blog posts from the beginning of the course. But thinking about it now, I have learned a number of new tools and skills that I haven’t used in any of my previous projects so a step-by-step guide in this situation would probably benefit myself for the future as well as those who probably haven’t used Adobe InDesign before.

 

step by step page measurements

First of all, when I opened Adobe InDesign it came up with the page measurement options as well as opening the project as a document, book or library. This was absolutely essential since I needed to replicate the exact measurements for my magazine so the content could sit in according to it too. I was able to adjust the height and width of the page in millimetres according to what my magazine publication measures as.

 

step by step creating the double-pages

When this accurately-measured page opened up, it only came up with the one page. When it came to the editor’s letter I used only this page but for both my double-page spreads, I needed to add an extra one next to it. I went to the ‘pages’ option on the right hand tool bar and dragged another page to the existing one I wanted so that they sat next to each other.

 

step by step text boxes

Creating the text box was easily done using the tool bar on the left hand side  of the page. I clicked on the tool symbolised by the letter ‘T’  and from there, I drew the text box to the size I desired.

 

step by step columns

All of my final double-page spreads and editor’s letter consisted of paragraphs in neat columns of identical heights and widths. To create the columns, I Clicked on the paragraph options tool below the font tools on the top left hand corner and from there, I Selected the number of columns I wanted from the columns tool along the top tool bar.

 

step by step column distances

This was also where I could adjust the distance between each column- which was essential for me since I needed to adjust this according to my magazine brand. This tool was available literally right below the paragraph number tool so I was able to enter the distance between the columns I needed in millimeters.

 

step by step image placing

step by step image fitting

In order to apply the images I required, I went to ‘file, place’ and selected the images I desired from my own files. Once this was done, I used either the height and width measurement tools or my mouse to adjust the size of it but this resulted in the image being out of proportion with its new size. This was when I right-clicked on it, chose ‘fitting’ and ‘fit frame proportionally’ so the whole image would fit in its new size comfortably.

 

step by step

Because my magazine brand has lots of little measurements that I needed to apply to my projects by the millimeter, the X and Y axis tool was immensely useful because it helped me achieve just this. However, this tool only came up whenever I clicked on any element on my page(s). Once I had correctly aligned any chosen element that needed re-positioning, I clicked on the X axis tool to move it horizontally and the Y axis to move it vertically in the number of millimeters I required.

 

step by step.png

Just next to the Y and X axis tool applications were the height and width application tools. I was able to use this on nearly every element of my double-page spread and editor’s letter, from paragraph columns, distance measurements, image sizing and the size of the text boxes. It was as easy as clicking on the feature I wanted re-sizing and apply the height and width I required in millimeters.

step by step

It was also required of me to produce the vertical and horizontal lines in between the article columns. To do this, I scrolled down the left hand tool bar and selected the line tool from which I drew the line I desired on the page. I could then re-position and re-size it with the measurement tools if required.

 

step by step

During the main articles in my double-page spreads, drop-caps appeared at the very beginning. Since this featured in my magazine brand, I emulated this by highlighting the letter(s) I wanted enlarging and then headed over to the very top right hand corner where I clicked on the little arrow which lead to to a tool bar. From there, I clicked on ‘Drop caps and nested styles…’ which then allowed me to enter the number of lines I wanted my letter to take up in it’s column- according to my magazine!

 

Final Major Project: Step-by step guide

Leave a Reply

