Final Major Project: Week 7 Production log

Now that I am 7 weeks into the Final Major Project, this week has been incredibly busy regarding the production. For instance, I managed to complete the final draft for my double-page draft #1, also counting the article drafts within it. Although, this wasn’t the reason why this week was so busy and somewhat stressful; (Covers Unit 8 1.1/2.1/2.2)- Even though I did complete the final double-page draft, this did have to be put on hold half way through the week since I was told that (units 8 1.1/2.1/2.2) were going to be marked over the half term holiday and that the deadline for all this was this Friday. It was mainly that it came at such a short notice for my liking that it meant having to put a halt to my double-page spread and production schedule to take care of this matter. However, the fact that: these were all previously completed and I’ve received promising feedback on my blog and verbally reassured me that everything needed in them were there and it was just a matter proof-reading for grammar, punctuation and spelling errors.

(Covers Unit 8 3.1)- Apart from the interruption of my proposal, research pack and pre-production documents, my double-page spread #1 development didn’t cause me any bother whatsoever. This was purely because of how much practice I’ve had throughout these nine weeks with Adobe InDesign and how I was able to get straight to work with the double-page spread. Also keeping in mind that the second week on any piece tends to be quicker and more straightforward since I already had the first draft as a guide for the layout and my article drafts to apply. Just as with all the previous double-page spreads created and my opening page-to-be, the skills I used in InDesign included: photo measurements and fitting tools to ensure the best resolution of my photos on the pages, paragraphing measurement tools which aided me to achieve the same measurements of the actual magazine. However, one tool I hadn’t necessarily used before was the paragraph distance tool which allowed me to apply the required distances that my paragraphs columns should have from each other. Even though I only picked up on this only last week when I readjusted my paragraph measurements and it did mean reorganising the page layout(s), it did make it all worthwhile at the end since the style looked much more related to ‘Outdoor Photography’.

(Covers Unit 8 1.1)- Having examined tiny features and measurements in the ‘Outdoor Photography’ magazine such as distances between paragraphs, photos and how far headlines are positioned, it gives me great interest to see how little they differ from each and every issue. As a result, it proves just how much in the industry they’re used in. From webpage design, graphic design including digitally,  online newspaper/magazine editing and online news in general. However, discovering this recent but fairly new distance measurement tool really did seem to reveal how much this and these skills and tools in general are widely used in the industry. For my magazine, these are probably no exception at all since all the paragraph columns are no wider than 6 mm and the titles on the page corners are all of the same position in almost every issue.

(Covers Unit 8 4.1)- In relation to my article drafts, they bring me on perfectly to the feedback I received for them in relation to my double-page spread #2 which I was adjusting from last week. Yet again this was mainly minor grammar and sentence structure elements that required going over again but my tutor also commented on something that definitely required more time looking over. This was how I was referring to my photos within my articles because I was referring directly to them which, after looking over “Outdoor Photography’ once again, made me remember that none of the articles directly referred to the photos- which was what I did. (Covers Unit 8 2.2)- However, I did notice that many of the photographers were discussing their journeys and techniques whilst taking their photos featured but without directly talking about them. This made it fairly easy for me to adjust since I was certainly describing the journeys taking mine featured but just needed to word the descriptions differently like how those in the magazine are worded. (Covers Unit 8 3.1/1.1)- This wasn’t as simple as just looking over a few more of my magazine’s articles and rewording it according to them: I remembered at the very beginning whilst discussing the criteria that a style guide counted as evidence of understanding the language style of my magazine. This was when I made the time to go over my magazines and research portfolio to take into account the language style, how numbers and measurements are presented, distance measurements, paragraph measurements and they type/frequency of punctuation used. (Covers Unit 8 2.2)- Not only would this be covering several project criteria but it was also extra proof that I understood my magazine well enough to emulate they style and language perfectly of it.

(Covers Unit 8 3.1)- All of these adjustments to make on my articles and my recently-announced deadline made me face the obstacle of making the time to get it all done by Friday this week since it also involved targets from last week and obviously work that requires strict grading. This was when I made the decision to use the college LRC on the Friday for the second week in a row in order to complete the adjustments for my double-page spreads at my own pace to ensure all the articles meet the style of ‘Outdoor Photography’.  However, this was mainly the chance for me to look every literally every piece of work that covered Units 8 1.1/2.1/2.2 and make certain they all contained everything that was required and that they were ALL FULLY Harvard referenced so that I do not miss any criteria and get accused for plagiarism. (Covers Unit 8 1.1)- Also considering the fact that this is a journalism course, it was definitely worth going over the work for spelling, grammar and sentence structure errors to enhance my chances of reaching my aspired grade.

Here are my final double-page spreads after completion and adjustment this week:

 

FMP final double page draft 2 (PDF) 3

final double-page spread 2

double-page spread #1 final submission draft

FMP submission spread #1

 

(Covers Unit 8 4.1)- With every ounce of feedback received and self-reflection made on my own production, my final pieces always look that bit closer to looking like the magazine ‘Outdoor Photography’. And this week was certainly no exception; since creating my own developed style guide for ‘Outdoor Photography’ and made the changes according to it, it has made a massive difference no only to the relating to the style of the articles featured but also to the length of the article. This was what my tutor wanted me to remember- to say as much as possible in as few words as possible! This, along with my discovery of the paragraph’s distance measurement tools allowed me to emulate the distances of those in the magazine. And as a result, it has made the emulation of both of my double-page spreads look even more spectacular in relation to those tiny details mentioned before but always worth making a note of.

 

Article Harvard references:

Double-page spread #1:

As a landscape photographer (Swales, S. 2016) Simon Swales has always been closely drawn towards the sea and mountains- as shown in his photography (Outdoor Photography ,2016). Having been a contributor to the OP Locations Guides since 2015 (Outdoor Photography, 2016), Grace Pulford puts him in the spotlight…

GRACE PULFORD How would you describe your work? (Santillo, D. Smith, N. (2016)

SIMON SWALES I am predominantly a landscape photographer. I visited the docks, ships and shipyards and took photographs to use for my studies. (Swales, S. 2016)

 

GP How did you gain an interest in photography? (Swales, S. 2016)

SS I gained my interest to provide reference material for my own studies at Liverpool polytechnic back in the 1980’s.  I visited the docks, ships and shipyards and took photographs to use for my studies. (Swales, S. 2016)

 

GP What Technology have you used within your work(Swales, S. 2016)

SS I always use the RAW file format and convert to a jpg or TIFF using a pc so that the image can be displayed on a monitor.  For this I use Adobe Photoshop. I only make minor adjustments with the software. (Swales, S. 2016)

 

GP What general advice would you give to any amateur photographer? (Swales, S. 2016)

SS Prepare to make a lot of mistakes. Eventually it will all come together and then you’ll get images that can sit with the best. (cameras / lenses) gets better all the time and computing software is the digital darkroom. (Swales, S. 2016)

 

 

Double-page spread #2:

As a young photographer, I have clearly used technology within my photos. To answer the question of which one, my phone. But nowadays, it’s simply not enough to state that. When it comes to my trustworthy Samsung Galaxy S5, I know that technology is helping me out. But without it I wouldn’t be holding the levels of admiration I have for my photos right now. As an amateur photographer and journalism student, I know I still have a lot to learn about this art. During my introduction to Adobe Photoshop (Pinsky, H. 2015) in the early development of this

passion, I was better at losing track of all the editorial tools on offer than actually using them. I didn’t blame myself: from tools that adjust colour tone, cutting separate image elements, removal of hazes, to addition of blur effects (Pinsky, H. 2015), the whole package deal of it introduced that rush of anxiety inside me. Having walked out with severe information overload, I can’t really agree that technology actually helps amateur photographers broaden their limited experience in this art: many of the tools and software available today are highly advanced.

Adobe Lightroom links to Photoshop and allows photos to be ‘easily’ organised and shared via Photoshop (O’Neil Hughes, B. 2015),  it can somewhat mislead and often be hard to tell them both apart for their intended purposes. On the opposite side of the spectrum though, I think of my first weapon for success: my Smartphone. Try testing yourself by adjusting the tone on one and place them next to each other. After that, cover original one up and look at the altered photo: what perspective does it give now? Does it look more like mist, or a winter sunrise? The effect tools on my phone were what asked those questions. In fact, it’s most interesting to see what just playing around with the tools can do to vary the entire atmosphere. From what I have witnessed, phones are allowing amateur photographers to take professional-standard photos without learning their craft. Back when darkrooms were in constant use photographers unable to see any photos until the end of the development process (Egbert, L. 2015) Now we can see them instantly. We have magazine adverts with full pages for endless lens options alongside the long lists with their prices (Outdoor Photography. 2016) I haven’t even considered lenses myself yet. Why? In my eyes, all a beginner should focus on their photographic device itself.

 

There is a difference between digital photography and digital image making. The end product in digital photography is the print and always will be. The end product in digital image making is displaying the image on a monitor. Technology and software is available to both beginners and professionals (Swales, S. 2016)

Yes I encourage beginners to use technology to TAKE shots. I then would say for them not to rely on editing software, if the shot did not come out… look at why? Was it the light? The film speed to fast? Software should be for touching up, slight tweaking or fixing or making dramatic editing changes that could not be done on the shoot itself. (Sedgwick-Jones, K. 2016)

 

Bibliography:

Advertisement for Canon from ‘PARK Cameras’. Outdoor Photography, (issue 203 April 2016) p.96.

Egbert, L. (2015). ‘What is a darkroom?’ Logan Egbert, available at: http://loganegbert.com/blog/the-darkroom-an-intro/ (accessed: 1st May 2016).

Pulford, G (2016) Email to Kaye Sedgwick-Jones, 26th April.

Pulford, G (2016) Email to Simon Swales, 10th April.

Pulford, G (2016) Email to Simon Swales, 10th April.

Pulford, G (2016) Email to Simon Swales, 10th April.

Pulford, G (2016) Email to Simon Swales, 10th April.

Pulford, G (2016) Email to Simon Swales, 10th April.

Pulford, G (2016) Email to Simon Swales, 10th April.

Pulford, G (2016) Email to Simon Swales, 10th April.

Pulford, G (2016) Email to Simon Swales, 10th April.

Pulford, G (2016) Email to Simon Swales, 10th April.

Pulford, G (2016) Email to Simon Swales, 10th April.

Outdoor Photography (Unknown author) (2016) ‘In the magazine this month…’ Outdoor Photography, (issue: 203, April 2016), p.4.

Outdoor Photography (Unknown author) (2016) ‘In the magazine this month…’ Outdoor Photography, (issue: 203, April 2016) p.4.

Santillo, D. Smith, N. (2016) ‘In the spotlight…’ Dan Santillo’ Outdoor Photography, p.70 (Issue: 203 April 2016).

Take your photography further. (2015), [screencast] Available at: https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/how-to/photo-retouching.html (accessed: 21st April 2016).

What is Photoshop? (2015), [Screencast] Available at: https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/how-to/photoshop-cc.html (accessed: 21st April 2016).

What is Photoshop? (2015), [Screencast] Available at: https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/how-to/photoshop-cc.html (accessed: 21st April 2016).

Final Major Project: Week 7 Production log

Leave a Reply

