Final Major Project: Week 5 production log

This week’s production has been much more of a relaxed one compared to last week because with my research out of the way, I was able to focus entirely on the final draft for the double-page spread I started last week.

(Covers Unit 8 3.1)- This final draft tended to pose a lot less challenges than when I started to use Adobe Audition once again last week since I had already completed the first draft and had the skills and tools of the software fresh in my mind from last week. This meant that I could copy and carry across all the required elements of my first draft on to my final draft spread such as the paragraphs- which were all previously measured out, the subtitles, photos I used and the main article titles as well. Overall, this meant that it took the pressure off massively this week because I only had 2 major tasks to focus on for the week: producing the articles and content for the double-page spread and only making the adjustments I identified last week such as the measurements of the page lines. (Unit 8 1.1)- However, I did find the article-producing challenging in a minor way only in the context that I had to ensure that my writing style matched the style of ‘outdoor Photography’ and that it all fitted in my measured paragraphs whilst still in the correct font and font size. I obviously wrote out my articles relating to the topic but whilst also relating to my research findings. (Unit 8 2.2)- However, it did come to a point whilst producing my first article when I was struggling quite severely to fit in all the information I wanted to use regarding my research on the photographic technology of our generation. This was where I decided to prioritise the information I was going to use and use what I felt needed mentioning the most in relation to my topic. However, if what I didn’t necessarily use in my project itself is still in my research portfolio, it means that I have still taken the time to thoroughly research what was useful and hold the possibility of using that knowledge for future projects.

(Covers unit 8 1.1)- As much as this week has been all about production, it has required the use of some problem solving skills when it came to producing one of my articles and rearranging one of the paragraphing columns. I wanted to have one paragraph longer than the other but I knew that wasn’t entirely possible with the paragraphing tool along. This was when I decided to add a little text box of the same width but desired height so that I could add the remaining text I needed into that section. Also, this kind of skill (as well as the overall production) is an essential skill for use in the entire media industry let alone journalism alone. Problem solving skills must be used to be able to still present the world with what they want but need to know. this also refers back to my most recent project which required me to create an interactive piece, radio piece and video piece but relied on me to use my problem-solving skills all throughout the pre, post and main production. Because of this experience, I didn’t even think about the problem at hand, I just thought of a method of resolving it and got straight on with it- which is what I will be required to do with any problem that occurs in the industry.

(Covers unit 8 4.1)- But overall, despite the minor yet easy-to-solve problems I faced with the article writing this week, I feel that the progress I have made with my first final double-page draft is of an excellent standard due to my abilities to: follow the ‘instructions’ from my first draft; take careful consideration from my research and apply my researched content and magazine elements and apply them to my double-page spread as well as producing the articles according to my research findings too. I have included screenshots below of my double-page spread throughout the process of editing and problem solving to progress with editing it:

draft 2

draft 3draft 4draft 6draft 5draft 6draft 7

However, there was a slight problem when it came to viewing my double-page spread as a PDF file: I set up a double-page spread layout on the InDesign software only to still have an irremovable ‘master page’ on top. This was much easier to resolve than I thought because I was told by another student that I could edit and delete any unwanted pages in the PDF format- which I did and as a result, it looks a whole lot more professional without the need to scroll down all the time.

Below is my final draft for the double-page spread in its PDF format:

FMP double page 2 final draft 1 (PDF)

From tiny changes to the thickness of box and page lines and text colours all the way to applying full sectors of articles, all of these screenshots prove that these additions added bit by bit all started to bring the whole piece (Covers unit 8 2.2/1.1)- and with all the elements that are found within the ‘Outdoor Photography’ magazine itself- as also found in my research portfolio- it really was a piece of work for me to hold up and say ‘I’m really am proud of myself for this achievement!’ Not to mention that this covers the criteria of using my research findings to portray my double-page spread and the content within it clearly towards my magazine’s target audience and my topic’s target audience. As a result, I have very little doubt that any target audience member who would look at my spread would form some form of attraction or interest in it due to the emulation I have achieved within it.

 

Article Harvard references:

As a beginner myself, there’s no point in denying that I have used some form of photo-editing assistance for my first trials. To answer the question of which one, my phone. But nowadays, it’s simply not enough to state that. When it comes to my trustworthy Samsung Galaxy S5, I have to accept that- yes, it is technology helping me- but without it I wouldn’t be holding the levels of admiration I have for my photos right now.

In my experience as an amateur photographer and journalism student, I admit I haven’t seen it all yet but I have certainly seen enough: during the ‘introduction’ to Adobe Photoshop (Pinsky, H. 2015) in the early development of my passion for photography, I knew that I had a long journey ahead. I was better at losing track of all the editorial tools on offer than actually using them altogether. I didn’t blame myself one bit; from tools that adjust colour tone, cutting separate image elements, removal of hazes, to addition of blur effects (Pinsky, H. 2015)  the whole package deal of it introduced that rush of anxiety inside me.

Having walked out that lecture with severe information overload, I’m probably speaking for millions of amateur photographers out there who, like myself, may find it all somewhat easy to give up upon. I can’t agree that technology actually helps them in these situations either: the fact that so many of them are advanced for this category- too advanced maybe? Referring back to Photoshop, and how it can link to Lightroom- allowing photos to be ‘easily’ organised, shared via Photoshop (O’Neil Hughes, B. 2015) it can somewhat misleading and often hard to tell them both apart from their intended purposes.

On the opposite side of the spectrum however, it flashbacks to my first weapon for success… my Smartphone. Focusing on the two photos below compared to each other, one obviously looks like the tone on it was adjusted. Try covering the left one up though and rethink: what perspective does it give? Does it look more like mist, fog or a winter sunrise giving an impression? Well, the effect tools on my phone were to thank for that. Not much required to the original photo at all; in fact, it’s most interesting to see what just playing around with the tools can do to vary the entire atmosphere. Phones are slowly but surely convincing us that one shot will consider amateurs as professionals overnight. Looking back in time to when darkrooms were in constant use but we were unable to reveal any photo until the end (Egbert, L. 2015) Now we have magazine adverts blinding us with pages for endless lens options and another mental overload with their prices (Outdoor Photography. 2016) I haven’t even considered lenses myself yet. Why? In my eyes, all a beginner should focus on their photographic device itself.

 

There is a difference between digital photography and digital image making. The end product in digital photography is the print and always will be. The end product in digital image making is displaying the image on a monitor. Technology and software is available to both beginners and professionals (Swales, S. 2016)

Yes I encourage beginners to use technology to TAKE shots. I then would say for them not to rely on editing software, if the shot did not come out… look at why? Was it the light? The film speed to fast? Software should be for touching up, slight tweaking or fixing or making dramatic editing changes that could not be done on the shoot itself. (Sedgwick-Jones, K. 2016)

 

Bibliography:

Advertisement for Canon from ‘PARK Cameras’. Outdoor Photography, (issue 203 April 2016) p.96.

Egbert, L. (2015). ‘What is a darkroom?’ Logan Egbert, available at: http://loganegbert.com/blog/the-darkroom-an-intro/ (accessed: 1st May 2016).

Pulford, G (2016) Email to Kaye Sedgwick-Jones, 26th April.

Pulford, G (2016) Email to Simon Swales, 10th April.

Take your photography further. (2015), [screencast] Available at: https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/how-to/photo-retouching.html (accessed: 21st April 2016).

What is Photoshop? (2015), [Screencast] Available at: https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/how-to/photoshop-cc.html (accessed: 21st April 2016).

What is Photoshop? (2015), [Screencast] Available at: https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/how-to/photoshop-cc.html (accessed: 21st April 2016).

Final Major Project: Week 5 production log

Leave a Reply

