Project 2: Week 7 project summary

This week, following on from last week, I continued my updates on my 2 minute video piece. First of all, I removed all the voice-overs that didn’t fit in with the shots sequence and made a start on applying the interview shots we took at Wildwood on Friday. Whilst doing this, I consulted my shots schedule so that I could relate the shots to mainly the duration that was listed on it.

Although this was handy to a strong degree, this introduced a new problem with the whole video in general: On the shots schedule it had each shot duration listed. But on the next shot, it skipped 1 second and this pattern repeated throughout until the 2 minute mark. On the actual video itself though, I had not left this 1 second jump so that each shot lead straight on to the next one. I realize this when I was constantly wondering why I was being left with seconds between each shot allocated in the correct shot according to the schedule. This made me decide to remove the shots that were of the incorrect duration and re-applied, edited and placed them into their correct position and duration. Overall this was a bit of a headache but I was more relieved than anything because I’d rather have found the error now than rush at the last minute to fix it or realize the error at the very end.

Adding on to this, I realized that we had the interview all done and dusted for the video piece but I am yet to carry out any vox pops for any of it. However, I asked my tutor if I could use these as part of my radio piece and when he said yes, I carried some out with my class mates. For conducting my questions, I only decided to conduct two since the radio piece is only two minutes and I don’t want to run overtime with it. It did also mean tweaking my radio script a little bit in order to make room for these vox pops but this wasn’t a problem since I already had a piece of the script linking to the vox pops I was planning to use anyway.

This week, my to-do list will consist of re-recording the incorrect voice-overs for the video and radio piece and (if possible) come into college on Thursday or Friday (when I have no classes) to use the LRC in order to apply all of them together. This extra time to get it all complete will be endlessly helpful for me since next week my main priority will be the 500 word article which I will definitely make a start on, whether or not I have finished the video and radio piece 100%. if this is the case though, I will be sure to make time to finish both.

Friday 4th March:

Today was the day I came in to use the college library to complete my 2 minute video piece. This was fairly easy for me to do because I had recorded the voice-overs on my phone last night as intended- which I did in my room where I could guarantee some quiet whilst recording. I did manage to apply these to Adobe premiere Pro successfully but it did mean that I had to reshuffle some of my video shots around in order to fit them. However, this was very minimal because  on Wednesday I exported the video without voice overs so that I could record whilst watching them to ensure I got the timing correct for each one. But I had to reshuffle some of the shots anyway because I encountered the problem of my video not quite reaching 2 minutes- which was a real headache because I thought that I had. Though this was by only around 10 seconds. This was when I had the idea of adding in an extra voice over discussing the culling of the grey squirrels- which had more video footage of the red squirrels. I also realised to myself that increased footage of the red squirrels was a good idea because they are so rare to many people nowadays so seeing more of the species would show them what beautiful and harmless creatures they are- which is why many trusts are working hard to protect them!

As a result of the shuffling of video footage, it did mean updating my shots schedule and shooting script a bit so that it would help me keep on track not only with the voice-overs but also with the timings of each shot/sequence too.

project 2 Shooting Script

Shot No. Action/audio Dialogue / Commentary / Sound
 

1

(Establishing shot) The city centre of Canterbury with busses passing by.

 

(Audio) faint noises of the busy high street with buses passing by.

 

(VOICE OVER) This is where many of us are everyday…
 

2

(Establishing shot) A nearby park which features squirrels (mainly grey).

 

(Audio) the faint background noises of wind blowing and very minimal sound from the traffic

 

(VOICE OVER) But this is one of many places where the problem lies.
 

3

(Three sequence shot):

1st– a mid-close up of plant bed area of the entrance.

2nd– another mid-close up of

3rd– a close-up shot of branches with leaves, which will become a focus-change shot (from near to far).

 

(Audio) wind and nature sound effects slowly black out.

(VOICE OVER) Ever since the introduction of the Grey Squirrels during the 1870s (¹), the Red Squirrels have clearly met their match due to the other species’ powers to compete for food and natural resources- with the evidence being a worrying decline of them.
 

4

 

(Full body shot) me walking towards the camera in the same park location.

 

(Audio) due to dialogue being spoken live to the camera, wind and leaves quietly crunching can be heard alongside my voice.

(LIVE AUDIO) Though sadly, this has had its consequences; there are a staggering less than 140,000 left in the UK today, from 3.5 million in the 1950s (²).
 

 

5

(Tracking shot) Carris and I walking along the path of the park.

 

(Audio) The conversation between Carris and I can be heard beneath the voice over.

(VOICE OVER) This worrying decline is the result of the Red squirrels becoming out-competed by the greys…
 

6

(Close-up shot) my hand on the computer mouse.

 

(Audio) No audio.

(VOICE OVER) …as well as catching what is known as ‘squirrel pox virus’ from the Grey Squirrels.
 

7

(Three sequence shot):

1st– a close-up of the computer screen showing information on the Squirrel pox virus.

2nd– a mid-close up from behind of Carris and I looking at the information on the screen. The focus changes from far to near.

3rd– a mid-close up of a side view of Carris and I looking at the screen.

 

(Audio) No audio.

(VOICE OVER) This virus is passed on in a way that means it’s totally immune to the Grey Squirrels (³). whereas it can be lethal to Red squirrels. But the question is: are these the only reasons that these species have become endangered over recent years…?
 

8

(Close-up shot) The computer screen showing the Wildwood Trust page on Red Squirrels.

 

(Audio) No audio.

We were lucky enough to visit the Wildwood trust in Kent- who have spent a number of years…
 

9

 

(Mid-close up) behind the computer we were using which changes focus from near to far.

 

(Audio) No audio.

…helping to protect these vulnerable creatures in order to investigate more upon this matter.
 

10

 

(Rule-of-thirds shot) showing an interview with the member of the wildlife trust.

 

(Live audio) The faint sounds of birds tweeting and gentle breeze in the background.

INTERVIEWEE: Talking about their opinions on culling the grey squirrels- (Live)
11

 

(Three sequence shot) All of the shots show mid-close ups of the red squirrels.

 

(Live audio) The faint sounds of birds tweeting and gentle breeze in the background.

INTERVIEWEE: Talking about their opinions on culling the grey squirrels- (Live)
12 (Mid-close up) A mid-close up of a red squirrel in its enclosure.

 

(Live audio) The faint sounds of birds tweeting and gentle breeze in the background.

(VOICE OVER) We know that the act of culling has been considered amongst many wildlife trusts. But what are the options for this one?
13 (Rule-of-thirds shot) A rule-of-thirds shot showing an interview with the member of the wildlife trust.

 

(Live audio) The faint sounds of birds tweeting and gentle breeze in the background.

INTERVIEWEE: Talking about their opinions on culling the grey squirrels- (Live)
14 (Rule-of-thirds shot) A rule-of-thirds shot showing an interview with the member of the wildlife trust.

 

(Live audio) The faint sounds of birds tweeting and gentle breeze in the background.

INTERVIEWEE: Talking about their opinions on culling the grey squirrels- (Live)
15 (Three sequence shot)

1st a mid-close up of water running out from the water fountain.

2nd a focus change shot from a bench outside the college.

3rd a close-up of Carris reading from a book on mammals in the library.

 

(Audio)- The faint sounds of a water fountain in the background but fades away when the shot changes.

(VOICE OVER) From what we have witnessed just now of the endangered red squirrel and what harmless beautiful creatures they are, who wouldn’t want to save them? From what action is being taken currently, the future of the red squirrel seems more and more positive.
16 (Piece-to-camera shot) A piece-to-camera shot in the library of Carris looking directly into the camera.

 

(Audio) Background noises of fain chatter coming from the library.

(LIVE AUDIO) So there we have it, after what has been said today, we know more about the future of these creatures and what is being done to help them.

References:

  1. Unknown surname, C. (2008). How did the grey squirrel arrive in the UK? co.uk, http://www.woodlands.co.uk/blog/flora-and-fauna/how-did-the-grey-squirrel-arrive-in-the-uk/# [accessed 21st January 2015].

 

 

  1. Coles, J. (2015). How conservation is Saving Britain’s red squirrels. BBC-Earth, http://www.bbc.co.uk/earth/story/20150924-how-conservation-is-saving-our-red-squirrels [accessed 5th January 2016].

 

  1. Northern Red Squirrels, available at: http://www.northernredsquirrels.org.uk/squirrels/squirrel-pox-virus/ [accessed 6th March 2016)

 

Project 2 shot schedule

Time Shot type Image Script
0.00-0.02 seconds Establishing shot An establishing shot of the Busy city centre with busses passing by. This is where many of us are everyday…
0.03-0.8 seconds Establishing shot Another establishing shot but of a nearby park which features squirrels (mainly grey). But this is one of many places where the problem lies.
0.8-0.18 seconds Three sequence shot 1st– a mid-close up of plant bed area of the entrance.

2nd– another establishing shot of the view of the park

3rd– a close-up shot of branches with leaves, which will become a focus-change shot (from near to far).

Ever since the introduction of the Grey Squirrels during the 1870s (¹), the Red Squirrels have clearly met their match due to their opposing species’ powers to compete for food and natural resources- with the evidence being a worrying decline of them.
0.19-0.30 seconds Full body shot A full body shot of me walking towards the camera in the same park location Though sadly, this has had its consequences; there are a staggering less than 140,000 left in the UK today, from 3.5 million in the 1950s (²).
0.30-0.37 seconds Tracking shot

 

 

The tracking shot of Carris and I walking along the path of the park This worrying decline is the result of the Red squirrels becoming out-competed by the greys…
0.37-0.41 seconds Close-up shot A close-up shot of my hand on the computer mouse. …as well as catching what is known as ‘squirrel pox virus’ from the Grey Squirrels.
0.41-0.53 seconds Three sequence shot 1st– a close-up of the computer screen showing information on the Squirrel pox virus.

2nd– a mid-close up from behind of Carris and I looking at the information on the screen. The focus changes from far to near.

3rd– a mid-close up of a side view of Carris and I looking at the screen.

 

This virus is passed on in a way that means it’s totally immune to the Grey Squirrels, whereas it can be lethal to Red squirrels (³)

But the question is: are these the only reasons that these species have become endangered over recent years..?

0.53-0.58 seconds Close-up shot A close-up shot of the computer screen showing the Wildwood Trust page on Red Squirrels. We were lucky enough to visit the Wildwood trust in Kent- who have spent a number of years…
0.58-1.03 minutes A mid-close up/focus-change shot A mid-close up from behind the computer we were using which changes focus from near to far. …helping to protect these vulnerable creatures in order to investigate more upon this matter.
1.03-1.08 minutes Rule-of-thirds shot A rule-of-thirds shot showing an interview with the member of the wildlife trust. INTERVIEWEE: Talking about how they are protecting the red squirrels
1.08-1.19 minutes Three sequence shot All of the shots show mid-close ups of the red squirrels. INTERVIEWEE: Talking about how they are protecting the red squirrels
1.19-1.27 minutes Mid-close up A mid-close up of a red squirrel in its enclosure. We know that the act of culling has been considered amongst many wildlife trusts. But what are the options for this one?
1.28- 1.30 minutes Rule-of-thirds shot A rule-of-thirds shot showing an interview with the member of the wildlife trust. INTERVIEWEE: Talking about their opinions on culling the grey squirrels.
1.31-1.36 minutes Mid-close up Another mid-close up of a red squirrel in its enclosure. INTERVIEWEE: Talking about their opinions on culling the grey squirrels.
1.36- 1.39 minutes Rule-of-thirds shot A rule-of-thirds shot showing an interview with the member of the wildlife trust. INTERVIEWEE: Talking about their opinions on culling the grey squirrels.
1.39- 1.52 minutes Three sequence shot 1st a mid-close up of water running out from the water fountain.

2nd a focus change shot from a bench outside the college.

3rd a close-up of Carris reading from a book on mammals in the library.

From what we have witnessed just now of the endangered red squirrel and what harmless beautiful creatures they are, who wouldn’t want to save them? From what action is being taken currently, the future of the red squirrel seems more and more positive.
1.52-2.00 minutes Piece-to-camera shot A piece-to-camera shot in the library of Carris looking directly into the camera. So there we have it, after what has been said today, we know more about the future of these creatures and what is being done to help them.

References:

  1. Unknown surname, C. (2008). How did the grey squirrel arrive in the UK? co.uk, http://www.woodlands.co.uk/blog/flora-and-fauna/how-did-the-grey-squirrel-arrive-in-the-uk/# [accessed 21st January 2015].

 

 

  1. Coles, J. (2015). How conservation is Saving Britain’s red squirrels. BBC-Earth, http://www.bbc.co.uk/earth/story/20150924-how-conservation-is-saving-our-red-squirrels [accessed 5th January 2016].

 

  1. Northern Red Squirrels, available at: http://www.northernredsquirrels.org.uk/squirrels/squirrel-pox-virus/ [accessed 6th March 2016)

 

However, just as I was going to complete my radio piece, I face the problem of the college computers being unable to allow me to upload any of my audio files to Adobe Audition. This was a problem for me because it meant that it wasn’t possible for me to complete any of it at that time. This was when I made the choice to, since I had: completed the video completely; had my radio piece voice-overs and vox pops at hand; and had my radio script completed, to wait until Monday morning to finish my radio piece. I was going to spend most of next week putting most of my attention towards my article but since I know pretty much what I have to do for everything, I feel that the radio piece will take me the morning at the most- which will leave me plenty of time to get moving with the 500 word article.

In terms of the 2 minute limit for the radio piece, I will find it a bit harder to make this last for 2 minutes exactly because with the video piece I had the video footage lasting for 2 minutes and the voice-overs in the background. However, whilst recording I have been looking at the radio script and repeatedly recording it until it reaches the time on the script- as well as having a few additional seconds added to it in case I need to fill in any time or even if I need to space each one out between each other.

Project 2: Week 7 project summary

Leave a Reply

