Project 2: Week 1 summary

This week, we have started preparing for our second final project which will consist of: a visual video piece and a radio piece which will both be 2 minutes long and a 500 word article. We were told that the topic for this is entirely down to us but because we will be recording the footage in pairs, we have begun to plan our topic and will present them next week in order to decide the best ones to go ahead with.

For my topic, I decided to investigate the endangerment of Red Squirrels because this has been an issue for a very long time and it would be interesting to look into the different sides of the argument, such as who may be responsible and what more we could do to help them.

This was when I started to plan out the following information that would help me accomplish and even learn more about the topic: Obviously the issue itself and why I was using that specific one; the content of my project regarding it and also the target audience. One major element I included in my plan were the sources/references I used to learn more about the topic. This was vital as I wanted to show where I got the information from and not get the blame for any plagiarism.

Project 2 brainstorming ideas

Project 2: Brainstorming ideas for project.

Project theme:

Wildlife and endangered animal species- However, mine will focus specifically on the red squirrel and the threat of their survival.

Why?

The reasons being for investigating this issue are because this has been an issue which has been a concern form many people for a long time and it will be interesting to investigate the different perspectives and sides of the argument.

What is the question?

“What is the potential future of the Red Squirrel?”

Target audience:

Wildlife and animal protection foundations and trusts are definitely a target audience as they protect these species, and people who adopt these red squirrels or other animals may have an interest in this specific area.

Content:

The content will include elements of the topic that will interest the target audience and make them want to know more about the issue, such as: the threats that they face and that jeopardise their existence; what people, foundations and trusts are doing to try and reverse the decrease and statistics revealing the number of red squirrels decreased since decades ago. This could lead on to comparisons of red squirrels to grey squirrels and how the grey squirrels play a major role in this topic.

Research:

My research will consist of both primary and secondary research for a number of reasons; because I will need some existing information to reflect and learn from for my topic but also, I want to make this MY work and not become completely reliant on having the information done for me. For my primary research, I had an idea when I was given the details to a conservation trust that helps to protect British wildlife and animals. This gave me multiple ideas for email conversations, vox pop interviews and even face-to-face interviews (for example). Plus, this trust is very local to our college too, which would mean easy access and time management to carry it out. Secondary research, however, would involve online news articles and even researching different wildlife trusts because they will have the information already ready for us to use.

Sources/references:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-north-west-wales-34902129

http://www.bbc.co.uk/earth/story/20150924-how-conservation-is-saving-our-red-squirrels

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-highlands-islands-34044818

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-34603394

All of the above sources outline the current issues that are ongoing with the Red Squirrels in comparison with the Grey Squirrels and also what people are doing in order to resolve them and to bring back more of the Red Squirrels.

These sources will help me when it comes to producing the 500 word article and also give me a brief idea on how to layout and order the content of my article.

 

 

This plan had a number of purposes: Firstly, it would help me with every aspect of my project as to what I would do and how I would do everything. Also, it would aid me when it comes to presenting them next week because the person reading it will be able to see how I will carry it all out and what ideas I have to put the piece(s) together. However, It will also give the reader, and myself, an idea as to when the problem-solving skills will need to be introduced- which will help me to plan ahead what they will actually be!

During one of the sessions, we also had a class discussion about each other’s ideas for topics we were interested in and (as a result) were going to be presenting. Whilst discussing these issues, we were told to carefully consider WHY we were deciding upon these and what the ‘question’ was in relation to our project matter.

I haven’t set myself a ‘to do’ list or anything like that this week because we have only been given our project assignment. But having looked through my plan so far, I know that I have more information and justifications to add to it. So, my ‘to do’ list for the rest of the week will be to have that plan completed so that I’m ready to present my project ideas next week.

 

Project 2: Week 1 summary

Leave a Reply

