Final project: Production log 3

Week 3:

Monday 7th-Tuesday 8th December 2015:

 (Covers Unit 1-1.1/Unit 1-1.2)- Today, I got started on creating my double page spread using the ‘Adobe InDesign’ software. This software allowed me to apply many tools and skills which ensured that my double page spread layout and the content within it looked identical to my chosen publication of ‘Outdoor Photography.’ To assist me with this, I used the draft I drew up yesterday which helped me keep to my plan of where all the content will be positioned.

(Covers Unit 3-2.1/unit 3-2.2)- During the process, I had to first of all ensure that the measurements of the double page spread were the same size as the actual magazine. I did this by taking measurements of the height and width of the magazine and applying them to the software before beginning the creating process. This was because I didn’t want the positioning of all my text, columns and pictures messed about if I changed it half way through. Other examples of skills I used included: creating the columns which would feature the text; applying the appropriate images, headlines and sub-headlines which related to the spread theme and also what the chosen publication may feature. InDesign also had a ‘line tool’ which allowed me to apply the straight lines which are featured in the Outdoor Photography magazine itself. Relating to the content itself, I was advised that I should put it into a Word document first and then apply it to the columns because the Word software highlights all the spelling and grammar mistakes which may occur- whereas the InDesign software didn’t.

(Covers Unit 3-1.1/Unit 3-2.2)- Just like with the way I’ve used these skills to create my double page spread, these skills are also used by a number of job roles within the media industry. Some of these job roles include: Magazine and newspaper designers, since it is likely they may use a similar or even the same software as I did. Other job roles include webpage designers and even online bloggers because they need to know consider the layout of their work and what other elements such as pictures and possible columns should be included. It’s also depends on what the project is because that can determine greatly what the content should consist of. Essentially, any job within the media industry that involves the use of digital or computer-based creative production (including the ones I have listed above) are the kinds of jobs that these skills have equipped me with and prepared me for.

 

Wednesday 9th December 2015:

(Covers Unit 1-1.1/Unit 1-1.2)- Today, I had finally completed my double page spread on Adobe InDesign. (Covers Unit 1-2.2)- Alongside completing this, I had also written up my evaluation of the design process, style of the spread and even the target audience and a comparison to a different brand. This allowed me to compare the differences between them both and how it’s similar to mine.

Thursday 10th December 2015:

(Covers Unit 1-2.2)- Today, I had finished my evaluation for my final double page spread. (Covers Unit 4-1.1/Unit 4-1.2)- Just like with the magazine cover; I have stated the target audience and the purpose for the publication’s double page spread. In response to this, I even said how this helped me in the process of creating my double page spread- which was that knowing the target audience and the purpose of the publication helped me to stick to the style, layout and content within the spread. (Covers Unit 4-1.3)- I also commented on the fact that proof of understanding these points on the target audience and topic allowed me to create my double page spread successfully.

(Covers Unit 4-2.1)- In the overall evaluation of my double page spread, I also made a comparison of a rival brand double page spread to a spread of my chosen publication. Within this, I commented on the different features of each double page spread along with what I thought were good features and maybe not so good features. (Covers Unit 2-2.2)- After this, I repeated this comparison but towards my own double page spread with the original version. I showed that I used my understanding of the points I made previously to create the double page spread and also made reference to my secondary research as well because I made some comparisons of different magazine spreads and the features that occurred in my chosen publication. I had used my knowledge of how the presentation, content and style of my chosen magazine attracts a certain target audience to apply it to my own double page spread and ensured that it stayed with me throughout the process of creating it.

 

Covers Unit 1-2.2)- Double page spread evaluation:

This evaluation will be looking at the double page spread I created in relation to my chosen magazine publication.

my spread

(Covers Unit 1.2.2)- Looking at what I have created, I feel that I have designed the layout in a very identical way as to what the actual publication spread would look like; I have created the text in the font that looks the same and applied the lines that separate the columns, pictures and headlines in the same way which the magazine issue did. With the tips section, I applied the same colour of the text box that appeared in the actual spread along with the same colour of the text. As for the overall layout, I feel that I have achieved what I intended to do- which was make it look like it would have been published by ‘Outdoor Photography.’ This is because the layout was very neat, tidy and orderly with very little overlapping and with the lines separating the different elements on it.

 (Covers unit 4-1.1/Unit 4-1.2)- Focusing on the target audience for my magazine publication, I previously mentioned that it was aimed at photography enthusiasts and professional as well. As a result, the purpose of the magazine is to present exceptional pictures from professionals; educate those who are willing to take this activity up and advertise the best locations for the highest quality photos. And because of this purpose and the target audience, the double page spread shows this through its professional and tidy layout, along with all its content/information in columns and sections. It’s all about the professionalism within it! Examples of the features that promotes the target audience and purpose includes: the clarity of the layout, particularly through the separation lines, the professional quality within the photos featured, the formal language and other content included such as the locations guide and the personal experiences.

All of these examples together prove that there is always a specific target audience for this type of magazine and that it has a relation to the purpose of it too.

(Covers Unit 4-1.3)- Overall, I believe that since I have considered the points indicated above, and from my secondary research, I have understood them all enough to create my double page spread alongside them.

(Covers Unit 4-2.1)-

original spread

This double page spread comes from an issue of my chosen magazine publication.

rival spread

This double page spread is from a rival publication, which is ‘Amateur Photographer.’

I’ve previously commented on another spread related to the Amateur Photographer brand in my research but here, it does look quite similar in terms of the layout to Outdoor Photography. For example, the text is in neat columns of twos or threes and the pictures do not overlap each other- the same with Outdoor Photography. However, the headline is near the bottom of the page and under one of the main photos and it almost look unclear as to which pictures belong wo which piece if text. This could be due to the large gaps in between some columns with another piece of information separating them. Even though this is intended to be useful, it may cause some confusion. As with Outdoor Photography, you can clearly tell which pieces of text belong which picture, mainly due to the length of the columns and the separation lines in between them. Also, the headlines and subheadings stand out, since they’re written in a different and brighter colour. There is one picture on the double page spread which is enclosed within an outlined box with the text in it, which is holding all the relevant information to each other in one section.

(Covers Unit 4-2.2)-

my spreadoriginal spread

I feel that my double page spread creation has shown that I have taken careful note of the points listed above and with the rival comparison. Also, when I compare my finished double page spread with an original version I feel that I have created it with care and used all the points that I have learned throughout the process of creating it. For example, looking my spread and the original above, I have used these points and focused on the different elements of the spread to ensure that my one looked like it was published by this magazine brand. (I also did this within my secondary research). I realised throughout the process that the target audience and the purpose of the magazine brand plays a big part in the content and layout of the double page spread because the way it’s written, presented and other elements such as pictures and headline positions are all presented in a way that attracts a certain audience. Learning about the target audience and purpose of the magazine has also made me ensure that I stick to the appropriate layout and style of the publication for the double page spread.

But relating to my double page spread and the original, I feel that because I have considered ad understood the previous points, my spread looks identical to the original and like it’s published by the same publication. This is due to the columns and pictures being neat and organised and obviously the content itself, even though it doesn’t appear on every page. The separation lines between the some of the pictures but definitely the columns show this and so does the style and font of the text.

However, I do feel that there are a couple of differences in my double page spread to the original, such as the colour of the headlines and the type of content. But for mine, I have used a combination of my research findings to produce my one final piece.

 

Final project: Production log 3

Leave a Reply

