Week 8- Video skills: Jobs in video journalism

Today, we created a short 45 second video story where we edited the audio and video shots we filmed together using Adobe Premier Pro to create our final video piece.

Firstly, we needed to put together a video plan which contained: What criteria/topics we needed to cover in 45 seconds; who would be in which shot and the duration of the shots; which shots we would use; who would be discussing each criteria and a script for our own piece of dialogue depending on what information we were covering.

The purpose of this video plan was to help us ensure that we gathered all the shots, timing of them and the types of shots we required. But also to refresh our memories of who was talking about which element and what we were going to say to the camera.

45 second video clip plan

45 second video clip:

Today, we are filming in groups a 45 second video piece which will feature an explanation and analysis of: the importance of filming /editing video within journalism; what jobs in industry they involve; and also the importance of research. We have decided what shot we will use, who will feature in each shot, how the information will be divided and how long each shot will be.

We have decided, since there are three members in our group, we will each cover one of these elements. We also need to decide which shots would be the best for each piece of information. Ellie decided it would be best to have a little introduction in order to introduce the topic.

Introduction- 5 seconds, voice over with an establishing shot.

Importance of filming and editing within a 21st century journalism- 15 seconds, 3-sequence shot featuring a close-up, mid-close up and an over-the-shoulder shot (Madisan)

What are those skills- tracking shot, 15 seconds (me)

What jobs these skills involve in the industry- 10 seconds, piece to camera shot (Ellie)

Introduction-“Journalists of our time now require video recording skills as part of their jobs. But why?”

What are those skills- “But what are these skills that journalists so need? They include capturing the shots but ensuring the quality of them is good whilst using the appropriate equipment, the dialogue is not too loud or quiet but that the overall end result is well-sequenced and makes sense.”

The main point of this video would be the use of video skills within a 21st century journalist and why these skills are of such importance to them nowadays. However, other topics we covered were what the skills actually are and what other jobs in industry would use these skills.

After we went out and filmed the shots, we put them together in order to create our 45 second piece using the video-editing software ‘Adobe Premiere pro’ and also wrote up a summary of the filming process stating the challenges I faced, what went well and what could be improved next time.

45 second video (PowerPoint)

Summary of filming (45 second video)

Summary of filming.

Throughout our filming process, I have felt some parts of it went really well. However, there were parts of it where we faced many difficulties and challenges.

Firstly, we had the opportunity to use the professional and good quality video cameras which allowed us to film each shot very clearly and professionally. These cameras helped us achieve this by having features on them such as the zoom lenses and resolution lenses which heled us massively with establishing shots and close-up shots. When we were filming a piece-to-camera shot of Ellie, we used the resolution lens to gain a clearer view of her. We also used the zooming in shot when I was walking down the path saying my line. The tripod which we used was a massive benefit to our video because it allowed us to attach the camera to it and whilst we were filming. This helped us massively because it meant that the camera was attached firmly to the tripod and it didn’t result in any shaking movements and uneven movements during the shot, especially during the tracking shot of the college landscape. Overall, I felt that my video looked professional and clear to see what was happening because of the tripod preventing the camera from creating any shaky movements and untidy shots.

However, there were many challenges which I faced myself when I was editing the video together. I used the video-editing software ‘Adobe Premiere Pro’ to put it together into a 45 second piece. I had no problems with cutting, applying the files and putting them together but it was saving it as one file which was very frustrating because every time I exported it and saved it, I would remove the SD card with the shots on them, it would remove all my shots completed in my video on the software. I also found out that I didn’t have enough room on my T-drive to store this video and all my other work. So what I had to do was transfer all my other work to my One-Drive and use another memory stick to store the shot files. This was very stressful and time consuming because I had to restart the entire video when this happened- although this only took me about 10-15 minutes.

The audio was a big issue too because the camera only caught the visual aspects of the shots and not the audio too. But we resolved this by re-recording the audio separately and applying it to Adobe Premiere Pro that way.

But despite the mistakes and storage errors, I’m actually very proud with is the overall outcome of the video, mainly because of the quality and angles of the shots and how I have put them together; they appear in a clear and orderly fashion and contained a mixture of the different shots we required which were all of a good quality too. And as for the audio, I feel that since we had to re-record it using my phone, hat the quality could have definitely been better but it wasn’t bad at all and I feel that I fitted it in with the video quite well because I have overlapped some of the voice-overs with the establishing tracking shot which made them look professional and unique.

This task has also made me feel, with some help from my group members, that I’ve learnt how to overcome many problems myself and come up with ideas on how to deal with them. Like with the re-recording of the voice-overs on my phone and figuring out how to (eventually) save the work on my software so that I won’t lose it all.

Week 8- Video skills: Jobs in video journalism

One thought on “Week 8- Video skills: Jobs in video journalism

  1. This is good first attempt at using your new video skills – you have clearly taken the time and invested effort in ensuring the output is as good as you can make it given the constraints. You have effectively carried out everything asked of you and once again demonstrated an incredible maturity in your self-awareness of just of how to improve in the future, but how to problem solve in the present. Re-recording when you did not *have* to is impressive, and the finished video is all the better for it. You have lain strong foundations for future video work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

