Week 7- Guide to Adobe Premier Pro.

This morning, we use the video editing software Adobe Premier Pro to put together our one, minute video consisting of the different shot types we took around the college. I have created a step-by-step guide which explains how I created the video piece and what tools/steps I used in order to achieve this.

Adobe Premier pro guide

Adobe Premier pro step-by-step guide.

Firstly, I logged into Adobe Premier Pro, where it asked me whether I wanted to start a new project or open an existing one. After clicking on ‘new project’, I was presented with this blank template.

jkj

To import the video files I wanted, I clicked on ‘file’ and ‘import’ which allowed me to select which files I wanted. Once I did that, they appeared in the side box in the bottom left hand corner. From then, I could simply drag over which files I wanted and they would appear in the video bar. But I wanted to ensure that the audio and video were in the ‘Audio 1’ and ‘Video 1’ bars at all times. This applied to all files. To move the files once they were on the right hand video bars, I simply dragged the left or right depending on where I wanted them. However, a black line was shown next to a file when they were perfectly next to each other. This was an excellent guideline but if they were left overlapping, then the file next to the one just moved will be removed from the video bar.

jk,k;lkl;';

For all my files here I wanted to unlink the audio from then so that it didn’t appear with the video. To do this, I selected the file on the video bar on the right hand side, I right clicked and selected ‘unlink’. This separated the audio from the video completely.

If I want to undo a move I pressed ‘control-Z’. If I wanted a file deleted I pressed ‘control-K’. There were even special effects such as the pen tool on the tool bar next to the dragged video files. This tool allowed me to fade the videos in and out of each other.

fgthg

Another part of this was exporting a file. To do this I went on ‘file’, ‘export’, ‘media’ and then I clicked on the output name I wanted. Although there are different output names depending on the video being created. For example, if it’s to be burned on to a DVD then there is a format called MPEG2-DVD, which is specifically designed for that purpose.

Overall, the importance for journalists and those working within the media industry to be able to edit and capture videos is completely vital for many reasons: For those who produce the news stories need to be able to capture the action so that it can be aired on TV; Journalists need to be able to do this as part of their primary research so they can produce articles and stories about it. Editing video is extremely important to these people too because journalists need to edit what they have recorded so that they can transcribe it to words for an article or prepare it for the radio reports. News broadcasters need to use this skill because they broadcast the news and show all of what has been captured on camera. Basically, without these skills available to media industry employees, then we wouldn’t be able to watch the news on our TVs or even read many good newspaper reports at all.

Week 7- Guide to Adobe Premier Pro.

Leave a Reply

